Six Word Friday: Change

1.

I need to change my body

I need to change my hips

I need to change my butt

I need to change my thighs

I need to change my stomach

But the reality, the truth is

I need to change my attitude

I need to thank my body

I need to thank my hips

I need to thank my butt

I need to thank my thighs

I need to thank my stomach.

They work hard for me daily.

2.

“Be the Change” according to Gandhi

Act from a place of generosity

Join hands together to show solidarity

Together we can change the world

3.

political change, social change, personal change

upheaval, unrest, unsettled, unsatisfied, and unbelievable

apathetic, overwhelmed, disinterested, unenpowered, and lazy?

There is so much to be

angry, mad, upset, disheartened, sad about.

That it seems like too much.

It’s hard to be energized, activated

about everything, all of the time.

So don’t. Pick one for now.

Quietly, solidly work toward the change.

4.

Change the way we see ourselves

Because the mirror we are using

reflects our daughter’s image of herself.

Be sure to show her herself

reflected back in beauty and light.

5.

Change the lightbulbs, change the sheets

change clothes, change menus, change daipers

I will not. I will change

behavior. I will change my actions.

I will change my life-upward.

6.

Change is inevitable-so they say.

from my observation, they are right.

The trick is not to avoid change

the trick is adapting to it.

a great quote I read once:

“We cannot control the wind, but

we can adjust our sails.” Truly.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Belinda
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 08:30:39

    Love these, Brook! Quietly, solidly work toward the change — just one thing could bring about so much fulfillment.

    Reply

  2. Molly@Postcards from a Peaceful Divorce
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 09:58:16

    I love the quote! I also really like your multi-section poem that addresses different aspects of change. Maybe I’ll try that sometime.

    I heard a great quote this week. “You don’t have to go somewhere else to be happy. You just have to be different in the place that you are now.” Change your thinking, change your life.

    Reply

  3. Elle
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 10:54:30

    Too beautiful, love each poem.

    Reply

  4. The Exception
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 11:59:29

    Kind of like a list in different sections. Like it.
    A few weeks ago I realized that if I want my daughter to see and recognize her beauty, I have to model it for her.
    Love the quotes

    Reply

  5. iseeyoulookingatme
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 13:43:10

    It’s true that our body image affects our daughters. I think of that often. I love the first section. Again you are encouraging us. Thanks!

    Reply

  6. Melissa
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 14:03:13

    Change our reality, change our perception.
    Change the future by embracing… change.
    Change in six parts. Love it! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Amy @ Never-True Tales
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 14:35:51

    What a great list!

    Reply

  8. Shawna
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 15:19:20

    so glad you wrote of change
    in six smartly individual important parts!
    My favourite = 4, reflected images,
    our daughters inheriting our negative images,
    saved by thoughtful change and reflection.

    Reply

  9. Tessa
    Nov 05, 2010 @ 15:39:58

    oh I love this and I can so relate. Sometimes I feel like there is something wrong with me because everyone else seems so positive. I realize that we all have these feelings, just some of us (ahem, me) focus on them more. Thanks for sharing. It’s so good to relate.

    Reply

  10. Juliana
    Nov 06, 2010 @ 06:22:16

    Great poem! I love number 4 because I’m reminded of this one on a personal level often. Got to show those kids that beauty is about who we are, not how we look.

    Reply

  11. Trackback: 2010 in review (hmm…better than I expected) « to be dancing… a novelty yarn

Leave a Reply

