Potatoes and Nostalgia

I can only really make a couple things my mom made. One is celery boats. Mmmm, so good.

The other is potato soup.

Handwritten recipe by Mom

I don’t make it very often. Mostly because my immediate family doesn’t really like it and I end up eating all of it.

Which is fine insofar as it’s delicious and I love it and I’m always a fan of leftovers. But nowadays, I’m not supposed to have carbs and it’s full of potatoes.

Which are, of course, one of my favoritest foods. Especially when combined with sausage…mmmm.

And even moreso when it’s combined with the memories of mom.

Is there a more potent combination than potatoes and nostalgia?

Very doubtful.

So yesterday I made mom’s soup and splurged and ate 3 bowls. Yumm.

Today I’m trying not to snarf down the rest of it, even though that is my first instinct.

For breakfast, I had a bowl of broccoli and cauliflower with a scoop of soup over it for flavor.

I deserve a medal!

Boy also had a bowl today. He had me add rice to it. I haven’t heard how it was. But I also didn’t hear any complaints. So…

I’m full up with food and memories today.

It maybe doesn’t look so great, but it is!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle Borok
    Feb 14, 2021 @ 21:01:59

    That soup looks amazing!

    Reply

    • B
      Feb 14, 2021 @ 21:18:52

      It’s really good. It’s italian sausage, so the flavor is yummy. I’ve accidentally made it with spicy Italian sausage, too. It’s too spicy for me, but folks would probably enjoy it if they’re into that sort of thing. I’ve also added other veggies. But it’s not as nostalgic that way. Lol

      Reply

Leave a comment